The worth of a PR degree – You can’t get a better graduate to join your team!

It worried me to read in Behind the Spin that; “A recent PRCA study revealed that 43% of directors say a Public Relations degree has little impact to employers when recruiting graduates, with 34% saying it makes graduates less attractive.  Not the most uplifting of statistics to read.”

I believe that completing a PR degree has pushed me into the working industry, by encouraging students on the Leeds Metropolitan PR course to go out and gain PR experience from day one! In my first year I was recruited in a PR consultancy in my home town for full-time for 4 months. After completing a voluntary position, they saw my determination and work, and offered to pay me to stay on over the summer break. This was an amazing position to be in, straight after my first year of university; one that I dare say many on more academic courses would not have gained. This experience was invaluable.

From then, the course encouraged taking a full-time year placement in industry, and again the skills and confidence gained is what sets any student ready for final year and to graduate and enter the industry. For employers, students who undertake this, like me, have the necessary skills to enter a PR job role and provide knowledge and expertise to even help the company and their projects. Therefore, why wouldn’t employers seeks for students with PR degrees who obviously have always wanted to join the industry, over the more academic subjects which the results above describe.

Leave a Reply

